G’Day Sydney!

Area where The Matrix was filmed

Area where The Matrix was filmed

I tried to squeeze the little time I had in Sydney to do all the touristy stuff I could before I departed. The first was a free walking tour with our guide, the hilarious Ross, who bellowed out interesting facts as we walked around the city. Despite all the historic buildings (of over fifty years old) and famous landmarks I was most interested in the street where they filmed ‘The Matrix’, the scene with the woman in the red dress…

Morpheus – Were you listening to me, Neo? Or were you looking at the woman in the red dress?
Neo – I was…
Morpheus – [gestures with one hand] Look again.

(I’m such a nerd)
Bondi1

The next stop was Bondi Beach! I had seen my fair share of beaches and was born in one of the best beach cities in the world. Plus I was watching a lot of ‘Bondi Rescue’ before coming out on this trip, so it had a lot to live up to. The beach was much smaller than I imagined it and had an air of pretentious to it but it was scenic and had a fun vibe. I hooked up my i-pod shuffle and strolled along the golden sand without a cloud in the sky. I settled on my spot and let the world pass me by.

Bondi Beach

Bondi Beach

I was a real tourist as I paid visit to the Australian Museum and Art Gallery. Apart from the dinosaurs (that were awesome) there was a section called “Surviving Australia” that displayed the most dangerous creatures of Oz. I was a bit wary to step outside as it appears everything here can kill you. Even shells. The Art Gallery displayed some interesting features that I immediately recognised as Chinese (thanks China tours). It had some interesting pieces that turns out were done by high school kids. Australian modern art.

just hanging around

just hanging around

It was still dark when I stepped outside of the hostel. I was picked up down he street by an eccentric Aussie that looked like Bill Bailey and addressed the group by shouting “hey gangsters”. He was so funny and very pervy, hitting on the girls half his age. We drove to a few breath taking spots across the Blue Mountains plateau. Eucalyptus trees as far as the eye could see.

The group consisted of mainly crazy Dutch kids but also had a Yank called Eddy, that I had healthy debates regarding American sports. I jumped out of the van at the final stop and walked out onto a cliff edge that crept dangerously high above the mountain line, 100s of feet above sea level. After watching some guys attempt it, I slowly crept over to the cliff and dangled my feet over and posed.

On one of my final days, I visited the botanical gardens. It was pleasant scenery on a scorching day. The main attractions were the bats that clearly hung from the trees in broad daylight. I could not believe the sound they made, screeching at the top of their little lungs, non-stop. I was glad none of them tried to sample my blood as I did not get my rabies tablets before leaving the UK.

Leave a Reply

