Attack of the Red Pandas

It was an early start but the Brisbane sun was already high in the sky. The shuttle bus cruised through the city’s skyscrappers but it felt like a ghost town, the streets were deserted and a stillness occupied the shop windows. It was a public holiday and I was off to Australia Zoo.RedPanda

Steve Irwin’s very own zoo is said to be the best in all of Oz. It had the standard attractions such as elephants, tigers, snakes, giraffe, zebra & crocodiles and also funky Australian animals like Tazmanian Devils, emus, parrots, kangaroos and WOMBATS! Wombats look so crazy, I just want to give them a big grizzly hug! I was very stoked to be going to see the echidnas as it was my favourite animal as a kid. I was bitterly disappointed this one time I went to Paigton Zoo…..It was a freezing January day as I bounded happily to the echidna enclosure. For many minutes I stared at their hut, waiting for them to emerge but they did not show. Why echidnas?? Why??? That was history as I gazed upon two chubby echidnas wobbling around their pen. They were hilarious, chubby and spiky and occasionally waddled into each other.

However, they are no match for my recently new favourite mammal…the red panda! If you do not know what a red panda is you should seriously consider researching this topic. I spent half an hour watching them. The highlight of the day was the crocodile show, the first of its kind in the world. It involved one of the keepers being chased around by a gigantic crocodile. A special note was that Steve Irwin’s wife and kids were in the show. Bindi Irwin (Steve’s daughter) is bit of a celebrity in her own right here down under.

Crocodile Show with the Irwins

Crocodile Show with the Irwins

STEVE IRWIN QUOTE: “Whatever you want to do in this world, it is achievable. The most important thing that I’ve found, that perhaps you could use, is be passionate and enthusiastic in the direction that you choose in life and you’ll be a winner”

During the time at the zoo I walked amongst the kangaroos. One of them bounced towards me as I knelt down. “Hey fella” I warmly told it as I affectionately stroked its back. Later that night I had some kangaroo steak on the rooftop terrace BBQ. Nom.

Leave a Reply

